Law Enforcement

The City of Crawford has contracted with the Dawes County Sheriff's Office. The Sheriff's Office has six sworn Deputies with three Deputies dedicated to the City of Crawford . Their primary patrol and enforcement duties are focused within the City of Crawford. The Deputies are fully equipped and trained through the Dawes County Sheriff's Office and function as patrol officers within the City of Crawford and provide all the security and investigation services for the City. All three Deputies live in or within 1 mile of the City. The Dawes County Sheriff's Office is located in the City of Chadron. The Sheriff and three Deputies reside there. The Dawes County Jail has six full time staff members and has a maximum capacity of 22.


Troop E of the Nebraska State Patrol is headquartered in Scottsbluff, 75 miles south of Crawford with officers in the area routinely.